Critical Language Scholarship Program | Swahili
U.S. Flag   State Department Seal   A Program of the U.S. Department of State

The Swahili Language

No Prior Language Study Required

Swahili, often referred to as Kiswahili, is the national language of Tanzania, Uganda, Kenya, and the Democratic Republic of Congo and the lingua franca for as many as 150 million people in Central and East Africa. It is also one of the official languages of the African Union and the East African Community. For centuries, Swahili has been a key language of trade and culture across East Africa and continues today to be the key language for some of the fastest growing countries in the world. Today African languages, especially regional languages like Swahili, are more in demand than ever before as international businesses look to expand into the African market.

East Africa is a region renowned for its stunning natural beauty, friendly people, and its diverse languages and cultures. The CLS Swahili program offers a chance to get a foothold into this region and the opportunity to communicate with people across a broad spectrum of countries and cultures.

Program Sites

Arusha, Tanzania
MS-Training Centre for Development Cooperation
Jun 21, 2023 - Aug 17, 2023

Previous Institutes

Featured Alumni Profiles

Simone Yuille
Swahili 2018
Arusha, Tanzania
Alejandra Sanchez
Swahili 2022
Arusha, Tanzania
Sabrina Hassan
Swahili 2016
Arusha, Tanzania